A legendary WWII airlift cuts through the snaggletoothed Himalaya Mountains where both the terrain and weather prove uncommonly savage. And where an American aviator on a mission of grave importance faces an unthinkable dilemma.


"In many ways, Bernard's best"

"Another read that will cut into your sleep"

About theWhen Heroes Flew Series

Book Three: The Roof of the World

The brilliant WHEN HEROES FLEW series, by multiple award-winning author H.W. "Buzz" Bernard, is set against against the most legendary aerial exploits of WWII. Told from the viewpoints of young men whose bravery may never be equalled, the stunning dramas stretch from the Libyan desert to the plains of Romania, from the vast Pacific Ocean to war-torn China, from the towering Himalayas to the tropical rainforests of Burma.

About the Author

H. W. "Buzz" Bernard’s debut novel, EYEWALL, became a number-one Kindle bestseller. Three of his subsequent novels won EPIC eBook Awards. His 2020 novel WHEN HEROES FLEW won the Military Writers Society of America Gold Medal award.


Praise for H.W. “Buzz” Bernard

"Buzz Bernard's gripping novel brings to light with stark detail and white-knuckle authenticity the WWII story of the American aviators who flew over the Himalayas."


"The [WWII] Ploesti raid . . . demonstrated the supreme heroism of the pilots and crews who made the raid, and this book vividly and unforgettably shows you why. Highly recommended.”
P.T. DEUTERMANN, author of PACIFIC GLORY, winner of the annual W.Y. Boyd award for best military fiction


"Expertly interweaving the boredom, horror, humor, injustice, and irony of war, H. W. "Buzz" Bernard has delivered a bravura performance to the canon of World War II literature. Well done!”
DWIGHT JON ZIMMERMAN,New York Times bestselling author


"You don’t need to be an aviation buff or a military historian to get swept up into Bernard’s skillful vision that causes you to chuckle and weep in tandem while forgetting everything around you but the story itself."
KATHLEEN M. RODGERS, 2019 MWSA Writer of the Year Finalist and author of THE FLYING CUTTERBUCKS




"...riveting, scary, and entirely believable..."

—Jerry Thompson, author of Cascadia's Fault


2018 EPIC eBook Award Winner!